Letters to My Children – March and April 2017

Dear Ariya,

March has been a pretty good month.  Your Grandma, Auntie Carmen and cousin Phelix came to visit, which is always great.  We love when family comes to visit.  We also had one good snow for the winter in Winchester.  You loved playing in the snow, and helping me shovel the driveway.  Being a big sister and pulling Asha in her sled was pretty fun too.  I’m not sure if Asha was a fan of all the cold weather gear, she just kinda sat there.  We also made snow cream, which you remembered from last year.  Always a fan of snow cream.  And when we got tired of the snow, we made cupcakes!  Licking the batter was the best part, I think.

Time has passed and we’re well into April, so I thought I’d merge both of these blog posts together.  April was a good month because YOU TURNED FOUR.  You’ve been talking about a paw patrol party since last year.  Well, since you and your best friend Asher turned 4 within a week of each other, and are in the same class at pre-school, Asher’s mommy and I decided we’d share the birthday party.  She was so nice to have the party at her house.  We got Paw Patrol balloons and goodies, a paw patrol piñata and also had a rocker/musician style party since Asher is into music.  You had a blast with all of your best friends.

You’ve finished learning the alphabet at school.  You’re constantly surprising me with the things you know.  Apparently, you know how to add too!  I didn’t realize how you picked it up, must have been from Team Umizumi.  We just had spring break and you kept me pretty busy planning fun things to do.  We went to the trampoline park in Hagerstown, MD.  We also went to pick tulips at Burnside Farms in Haymarket, VA.  You also had your first Tinkergarten class.  It was a cold rainy wet day, but we got to play in the mud!  You had fun making mud pies and stirring up the mud with a stick.  But every time you got your hands dirty, you wanted to wash your hands.  It was pretty fun being outside, playing in the rain.

Dear Asha,

What can I say, you’ve been getting so big!  You love climbing on chairs, running after your sister, and trying to talk.  But every time I ask you to say Mama, you say Dada 🙂  You love banging on your drums and patting the dogs. And I love that you still love to cuddle and give me hugs and kisses.

We’ve finished up our swim lessons, but with the summer near, I’m hoping we’ll spend more time at the pool.  I know you’d love that.  Plus we’re going to the beach this summer with your cousins!  I know you’ll be excited to play in the sand.  Please, just don’t put the sand in your mouth!  At Tinkergarten, you kept putting the mud in your mouth, and I just couldn’t get over it.  you do love exploring and tasting everything!

Here are our photos from March and April, all digital.

 

Leave a Reply

